Former Wallaby Jeff Miller has been named QRU chairman, voted in last week.

Miller will take over from fellow ex-Test player Damien Frawley, who stepped down from the position earlier this month due to work commitments.

The 55-year-old has served as Queensland’s coach, CEO and president in the past and paid tribute to his predecessor after the news.

“I want to thank and congratulate Damien for his outstanding service to Rugby in Queensland during his two years as QRU chairman,” he said.

“His foresight and leadership has guided the QRU from a very difficult position in 2016 to this point, where only a few weeks ago we announced a modest profit in a very tough Queensland sporting market.

“The work of the QRU is very important to the health of rugby in Australia. We will ensure this work continues with all our participants, clubs, schools, partners, volunteers and fans, as we look to the future.”

James Beirne will be the QRU’s vice-chairman, while David Codey was named QRU president at the AGM earlier this month, while Andrew Slack and Bill Ross were also re-elected as vice-presidents and board members mark Connors and Mark Stanton were re-elected. 

Boyd Curran replaced Ross Thompson as a board member.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *